AWRI Board

Brett Bryant, Liz Riley, Kim Horton, Dan Johnson, Louisa Rose, Stuart McNab, Mark Watson, Kiaran Kirk, John Harvey
Not pictured: Toby Bekkers

Louisa E. Rose

BSc, BAppSc(Oen), GAICD
Chair. Chief Winemaker, The Yalumba Wine Company. Member South Australian Agribusiness Council. Previous positions: director Barossa Grape and Wine Association, director Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference Inc., Chairman Wine Barossa. National wine show judge since 1997 and 22 years’ industry experience. Board member since 2011.

Tobias J. Bekkers

BAppSc(Ag)(Hons), Grad. Cert. (Mgt)
Viticulturist, consultant and wine business manager with over 20 years of relevant experience. Toby’s consultancy provides viticulture and wine business advice across Australia. He and his wife own and operate Bekkers Wine and vineyards in McLaren Vale, South Australia. Toby participated in the Australian wine industry Future Leaders program in 2009. Toby has served on many industry committees including two terms on the Board (one as Deputy Chair) of the McLaren Vale Grape Wine and Tourism Association. Board member since 2014.

Ben Bryant

Chief Winemaker and Director for Pernod Ricard Winemakers Australia with over 17 years of relevant industry experience in winemaking, viticulture, commercial business, international marketing and international business development. Currently a member of the Executive of the South Australian Wine Industry Association (SAWIA) and actively involved in the Wine Barossa Committee since 2015. Board member since 2017.

John S. Harvey

BSc (Hons), PhD, MBA, GAICD
Former Chair of the Adelaide Hills Wine Region, Member of the South Australian Wine Industry Association Executive and Executive Director of the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation. John has extensive knowledge and experience of the organisations, politics and structures of the Australian wine industry, the research and development system and Government. John is currently chair of the Can:Do 4 Kids Group of Charities and Non-Executive Director of Rural Business Support and Studio Nine Architects and a Member of the South Australian Committee of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust (Australia). Board member January 2012 to December 2014 and from January 2016.

Kim R. Horton

BAppSc (Wine Science)
Senior Winemaker, Willow Bridge Estate. Past member of the WA Wine Industry Association Technical Committee. Young Winemaker of the Year in the inaugural Australian Wine Selector’s Shining Lights awards. National and regional wine show judge with 20 years wine industry experience. Board member since 2015.

Daniel L. Johnson

BSc (Hons), PhD, MBA, GAICD
Managing Director, The Australian Wine Research Institute, Chair of The Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference Inc. , Director of Tacnia Pty Ltd. Professional Member of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology, Committee Member of the Wine Industry Technical Advisory Committee of the Winemakers’ Federation of Australia, the Wine Innovation Cluster Leadership Group and the Waite Strategic Leadership Group. Participant in the Australian wine industry Future Leaders program. Dan has been instrumental in driving various initiatives in the Australian grape and wine research and development community over the last five years. Board member since 2011.

Kiaran D. Kirk

BSc (Hons), PhD, DPhil
Dean of the College of Science at the Australian National University (ANU); Chair of the Board, Clonakilla Wines (est. 1971). Previous positions: Director, ANU Research School of Biology (2009-2014); Head, ANU Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (1996-2009); Research Fellow, University of Oxford (1989-1996). Kiaran has published over 150 research papers in the field of biochemistry and has over twenty years’ experience in the Australian research sector. Board member since 2017.

Stuart C. McNab

BAgSc (Hons), PhD
Formerly Chief Supply Officer – Global Wine Production, Treasury Wine Estates. Participant in the inaugural Winemakers’ Federation of Australia (WFA) Future Leaders Program in 2006, inaugural Chair of the Wine Innovation Cluster 2008-2010, member of the Executive of the South Australian Wine Industry Association (SAWIA) 2007-2014 and President of SAWIA 2009-2012. Stuart has been a Board member of WFA, Chair of the WFA Large Winemakers Committee, Chair of the WFA Innovation Policy Committee and member of the South Australian Wine Industry Council. Board member since 2015.

 Elizabeth A. Riley

BAppSc (Wine)
Owner and operator of Vitibit Pty Ltd. Independent Expert for the Wine Industry Code of Conduct – Wine Australia, Professional Member of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology, Associate Member and member of the Viticulture Sub-committee of the Hunter Valley Wine Industry Association and Associate Member of the NSW Farmers Association. Liz was awarded the Hunter Valley Wine Industry Association’s 2011 Viticulturist of the Year and was the recipient of the Australian Nuffield Farming Scholarship for Women (sponsored by Lady Southey) in 1997. Over 20 years experience in the Australian wine industry. Board member since 2012.

Mark R. Watson

Chief Executive Officer of Water Utilities Australia, previous Partner of KPMG, leading the Adelaide Corporate Finance practice. Previously held senior finance and strategic management positions at Wirra Wirra Vineyards, FH Faulding & Co Ltd and at PricewaterhouseCoopers. Current directorships: President, Starlight Children’s Foundation SA Advisory Board, Chairman, Beach Burrito Company Pty Ltd, along with various other private company directorships. A Chartered Accountant with over 20 years finance and management experience in Australia and United Kingdom. Board member since 2008.