Election of Directors

The Board of the Australian Wine Research Institute

The AWRI’s Constitution provides that there will be not less than seven nor more than 11 Directors. Six of those directors are nominated and/or elected by organisations that pay the Wine Grapes Levy. Levy payer elected directors should, in addition to their other duties and responsibilities, provide an industry perspective to the direction and priorities of AWRI’s RDE&C activities. Up to four Special Qualification Directors possessing complementary skills can also be appointed. The only Executive Director is the Managing Director.

The process of electing directors to the AWRI Board is available here.

AWRI Board elections 2019

A nomination process was conducted in July 2019 for candidates to fill vacant positions on the AWRI Board for 2020. More than one candidate was nominated in the small (<2,000 tonnes) levy payer category. In accordance with Schedule 1 of the AWRI Constitution an election is required to determine the Director in the small levy payer category.

The nominated candidates are:

Marc Allgrove (Evans & Ayers, SA)
Toby Bekkers (Bekkers Wine, SA)
Greg Clack (XO WineCo and Chain of Ponds, SA)
Rory Lane (The Story Wines, Vic)
Peter Leske (Revenir Winemaking and La Linea, SA)
David Lowe (Lowe Wines, NSW)
Mark Slade (Purple Hands and Saab Australia, SA)

The levies unit of the Department of Agriculture will conduct the election. Voting instructions will be emailed to all small levy payers (or posted if an email address is not available) on 18 October 2019. Votes must be returned to the Department of Agriculture (levies.policy@agriculture.gov.au)  by 5 pm, Friday, 8 November 2019. Votes returned after this time will not be counted.

A ballot paper and candidate profiles are also available below.

Ballot paper

Candidate profiles

For medium and large producers, a single nomination was received in each category, so elections are not required. The AWRI is therefore pleased to announce that Louisa Rose of Yalumba Family Winemakers and Marcus Woods of Pernod Ricard Winemakers have been re-elected to the AWRI Board. For any queries about the election please contact the AWRI at enquiries@awri.com.au.