AWRI Board election – voting now open

An election is now open for the vacant position on the AWRI Board of Directors in the small (<2,000 tonnes) producer category.

The following nominations were received:

  • Marc Allgrove (Evans & Ayers, SA)
  • Toby Bekkers (Bekkers Wine, SA)
  • Greg Clack (XO WineCo and Chain of Ponds, SA)
  • Rory Lane (The Story Wines, Vic)
  • Peter Leske (Revenir Winemaking and La Linea, SA)
  • David Lowe (Lowe Wines, NSW)
  • Mark Slade (Purple Hands and Saab Australia, SA)

Producers in the small category are strongly encouraged to vote for their preferred candidate. This is an excellent opportunity to have a say in electing a candidate that can contribute to the Australian grape and wine research and development agenda.

The levies unit of the Department of Agriculture will conduct the election. Ballot papers and candidate profiles will be emailed or posted (if an email address is not available) to all small levy payers on Friday 18 October 2019.

Votes must be received by the Department of Agriculture (levies.policy@agriculture.gov.au) no later than 5:00 pm, Friday, 8 November 2019.

Ballot papers and candidate profiles are also available from the AWRI website.

For medium and large producers, a single nomination was received in each category, so elections are not required. The AWRI is therefore pleased to announce that Louisa Rose of Yalumba Family Winemakers and Marcus Woods of Pernod Ricard Winemakers have been re-elected to the AWRI Board.

For further information please contact the AWRI at enquiries@awri.com.au.