Results from AWRI Board election

An election was recently held for positions on the AWRI Board in the small, medium and large levy payer categories. Eight candidates nominated for election in the small category and two candidates nominated in each of the medium and large levy payer categories. The AWRI is pleased to announce that the successful candidates are:

  • Corrina Wright from Oliver’s Taranga in the small levy payer category
  • Brett McClen from Brown Family Wine Group in the medium levy payer category
  • Nigel Sneyd MW from Accolade Wines in the large levy payer category.

Corrina Wright is winemaker and director at the helm of sixth generation family business, Oliver’s Taranga in McLaren Vale. She was awarded the ASVO Winemaker of the Year 2019 for her contribution to the wine community. She graduated from the prestigious Len Evans Tutorial in 2005 and continues to judge and chair numerous wine shows around Australia. Corrina has served on the boards of the McLaren Vale Grape, Wine & Tourism Association, the Australian Society of Viticulture & Oenology, Family Business Australia, and the Winemakers Federation of Australia and is currently part of the Australian Women in Wine Awards advisory board.

Brett McClen is Chief Viticulturist for Brown Family Wine Group. In this role he oversees all the company’s grapegrowing and sourcing functions, responsible for 830 ha of vineyards located across the Murray Valley, King Valley, Heathcote and Tasmania. Brett has an Honours degree in Agricultural Science and a Master’s degree in Business Administration. He has served two terms as a Director of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology.

Nigel Sneyd (MW) is Global Director of Wine and Quality for Accolade Wines. Prior to taking up that role, he enjoyed a 15-year career with E&J Gallo, where he oversaw the company’s international winemaking operations before being appointed a Director of Winemaking in California. Prior to working at Gallo, Nigel was the Director of Domaine de la Baume in France and later director of a negociant business specialising in high-end appellation wines from the Languedoc. Nigel completed his first Oenology degree at Charles Sturt University in Australia and his second at the Université de Dijon in France where he obtained his Diplôme National d’Oenologue as Dux of his year. He completed his Masters of Business Administration shortly before leaving Australia for France in 1994.

All three Directors will commence their elected term on 1 January 2021. The terms of outgoing Board members, Wendy Cameron and Iain Jones, will conclude on 31 December 2020. The AWRI thanks Wendy and Iain for their significant contributions over the last three years.