Nominations open for Director elections and three new appointments announced

28 September 2023

Invitation to nominate levy payer-elected Directors to the AWRI Board

Nominations are now open for two levy payer-elected Director positions on the Board of The Australian Wine Research Institute Ltd (AWRI). The AWRI Board includes three people who are nominated and/or elected by Wine Grapes Levy payers and one person who is nominated and/or elected by Grape Research Levy payers, with terms of three years. In accordance with the Constitution of the AWRI, two of these positions become vacant on 31 December 2023: one in the small Wine Grapes Levy payer category and one in the medium Wine Grapes Levy payer category.

This is an excellent opportunity for an interested candidate to become involved in the Australian wine industry’s own R&D organisation and, in addition to their other duties and responsibilities, provide a ‘coalface’ perspective to the direction and priorities of AWRI’s research,development, extension and commercialisation activities.

Current levy payers are invited to nominate suitably qualified candidates for the vacant positions. Nominations must be made in writing on the official nomination form which is available from the Election and Appointment of Directors page on the AWRI website. Eligible levy payers may propose or second one nomination only.

Nominations are to be received by post to The Returning Officer, The Australian Wine Research Institute Ltd, PO Box 197, Glen Osmond SA 5064 or by email to returningofficer@awri.com.au NO LATER THAN 5 PM FRIDAY, 20 October 2023. If more than one nomination is received in each category, an election in that category will be conducted during November 2023.

Nominees are encouraged to prepare a profile/statement of not more than 250 words, including a photograph, in support of their nomination, for use in the event that an election is required. The profile/statement must also be received by the AWRI Returning Officer by the nomination deadline of 20 October 2023.

More information is available in the nomination form regarding:

  • the definition of small and medium Wine Grape levy payers
  • the clauses of the AWRI Constitution dealing with the election of Directors by levy payers and their term of office.

A form can also be requested by contacting Shiralee Dodd, the Returning Officer, by email at returningofficer@awri.com.au.

Three new appointments

The AWRI Board also recently announced the appointment of three Directors: Trish Barry, Carolyn MacDonald and Damien Sheehan. Ms Barry and Ms MacDonald were appointed following a recruitment process conducted by the AWRI Nominations Committee. Damien Sheehan was appointed to the Grape Research Levy payer elected position left vacant following the resignation of Andy Clarke in August, as the next highest voted candidate in the 2022 election, to reflect the wishes of Grape Research Levy payers. These three Directors will take office on 1 November 2023.