AWRI Board election – voting now open

26 October 2023

Voting is now open in the election for a vacant position on the AWRI Board of Directors in the medium (2,001 – 50,000 tonnes p.a.) Wine Grapes Levy payer (wine producer) category.

Levy payers in the medium category nominated the following candidates:

Brett McClen (Brown Family Wine Group, Vic)
Courtney Ribbons (Pernod Ricard Winemakers, SA)

Voting instructions and candidate profiles are available on the AWRI website or you can access the voting page directly. The ballot will close at 5:00 pm CST on Friday,17 November 2023.

Levy payers in the medium category are strongly encouraged to vote for their preferred candidate. This is an excellent opportunity to have a say in electing a candidate that can contribute to the Australian grape and wine research and development agenda.

Nominations were also called for in the small (less than 2,000 tonnes p.a.) Wine Grapes Levy Payer category. As only one nomination was received in that category, an election is not required. The AWRI is pleased to announce that Corrina Wright of Oliver’s Taranga has been re-elected to the position of small Wine Grapes Levy Payer Director.

Need help deciding if you are eligible to vote in this election?

The Wine Grapes Levy (WGL) is the levy payable on grapes used in the winemaking process. A medium WGL payer is an organisation that crushes between 2,001 and 50,000 tonnes of grapes per annum. Only medium WGL payers are eligible to vote.

The election will be conducted electronically with assistance from Elections Australia Pty Ltd.

The ballot is now open and voting has commenced. The ballot will close at 5:00 pm CST on Friday, 17 November 2023.

1.         Go to: http://www.myvote.com.au/awri and follow the instructions.

  1. Enter the name of the levy payer (the organisation liable to pay the levy) and the person submitting the vote on behalf of the levy payer.
  2. Cast your vote.

A levy payer organisation may only vote once in this election. The following representatives are eligible to vote on behalf of the levy payer organisation:

  • Sole owner
  • Partner of a partnership
  • Director (or Director equivalent) of a Company or group of Companies.

Results of the election will be announced in the week commencing 27 November 2023 via the AWRI’s eBulletin and will also be published on the AWRI website.

For further information please contact the Returning Officer, Shiralee Dodd at returningofficer@awri.com.au.