AWRI Board election

Elections will be held for the vacant positions on the AWRI Board of Directors in the small producer category (<2,000 tonnes) and large producer category (>50,000).

Two nominations were received in the small category:

  • Mary Retallack of Retallack Viticulture (SA)
  • John Harvey of Bathe Wines (SA)

Two nominations were received in the large category:

  • Stuart McNab of Treasury Wine Estates (SA)
  • Rob Glastonbury of De Bortoli Wines (NSW)

Producers in the small and large categories are strongly encouraged to vote for their preferred candidate. This is an excellent opportunity to have a say in electing a candidate that can contribute to the Australian grape and wine research and development agenda.

The election will be conducted electronically with assistance from Elections Australia Pty Ltd. Voting instructions will be sent to all small and large levy payers in the week commencing 13 October 2014. Voting will close at 5 pm, Friday 31 October 2014.  Candidate profiles (if provided) are available from the AWRI website. If you do not receive voting instructions and believe you are eligible to vote please contact the AWRI.

For medium producers, a single nomination was received, so an election is not required. The AWRI is therefore pleased to announce that Mr Kim Horton of Ferngrove Wines has been elected to the AWRI Board.

For further information please contact Shiralee Dodd (08) 8313 6610 or shiralee.dodd@awri.com.au.