AWRI Board election result

An election was recently held for one position on the AWRI Board in the small levy payer category, with seven candidates contesting the election. The AWRI is pleased to announce that Toby Bekkers from Bekkers Wine was elected to the vacant position in the small levy payer category. Only one nomination was received in each of the medium and large levy payer categories, so elections were not required. Louisa Rose of Yalumba Family Winemakers (Chair of the AWRI Board) and Marcus Woods of Pernod Ricard Winemakers (a current Director) are the successful candidates in those categories respectively.

Toby Bekkers, a current AWRI Director, is a viticulturist, consultant and wine business manager with more than 25 years of relevant experience. He holds a Bachelor of Applied Science, Agriculture with Honours from the University of Adelaide and a Graduate Certificate in Management from the University of South Australia. He and his wife, Emmanuelle, own and operate Bekkers Wine and vineyards in McLaren Vale. Toby is a graduate of the 2009 ‘Future Leaders’ program and is a 2017 Nuffield Farming Scholar. He has presented at numerous events, including the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference.

Louisa Rose is Chief Winemaker, Yalumba Family Winemakers and has 28 years of wine industry experience. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Physics from the University of Melbourne and a Bachelor of Applied Science in Oenology from Roseworthy College. Louisa is a highly experienced wine show judge, and is current chair of the Royal Adelaide Wine Show. She is Chair of the Australian Wine Research Institute, Grand Master of the Barons of Barossa and a member of the South Australian Agribusiness Council.

Marcus Woods is Wine Supply Director at Pernod Ricard Winemakers and has more than 18 years of viticultural and operational management experience. He holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Viticulture and an MBA from Charles Sturt University. Marcus has worked across Australia managing vineyards, wineries and distilleries for a number of employers including Hardy’s, Accolade Wines and the Bickford’s Group. Marcus has taught Winery Business Management at the University of Adelaide and has been a committee member of the Clare Region Winegrape Growers Association.

All three Directors will commence their elected terms on 1 January 2020.