Nominations open for AWRI Board positions

15 July 2020 – Invitation to nominate levy payer directors to the AWRI Board

Nominations are now open for three levy payer director positions on the Board of The Australian Wine Research Institute Ltd (AWRI).

The AWRI Board of Directors includes six persons who are nominated and/or elected by wine grapes levy payers for a term of three years. In accordance with the Constitution of the AWRI, three of these positions become vacant on 31 December 2020, one in each of the defined small, medium and large categories.

This is an excellent opportunity for an interested candidate to become involved in the Australian wine industry’s own R&D organisation and, in addition to their other duties and responsibilities, provide a ‘coalface’ perspective to the direction and priorities of the AWRI’s research, development, adoption and commercialisation activities.

Current levy payers are invited to nominate suitably qualified candidates for the vacant positions. Nominations must be made in writing on the official nomination form which is available from the AWRI Election of Directors page. Eligible levy payers may propose or second one nomination only.

Nominations are to be received by post to The Returning Officer, The Australian Wine Research Institute Ltd, PO Box 197, Glen Osmond SA 5064 or by email to returningofficer@awri.com.au NO LATER THAN 5 PM FRIDAY 14 AUGUST 2020. If more than one nomination is received in each category, an election in that category will be conducted during August/September 2020.

Nominees are encouraged to prepare a profile/statement, including a picture, of not more than 250 words in support of their nomination, for use in the event that an election is required. The profile/statement must also be received by the AWRI Returning Officer by the nomination deadline of 14 August 2020.

More information is available in the nomination form regarding:

  • the definition of small, medium and large levy payers
  • the method of calculation of votes in an election
  • the clauses of the AWRI Constitution dealing with the appointment of directors by levy payers and their term of office.

A form can also be requested by contacting Shiralee Dodd, the Returning Officer, by email at returningofficer@awri.com.au.